Sapperton Church Of England Primary School


Governors Attendance Record

 Governors Minutes

This area will show all documents uploaded to the /docs/governors/minutes folder.

Documents in folders containing the word 'minute' are listed in the order they were uploaded, most recent upload at the top.

    Academic Year 2022/2023




    Governors at Sapperton Church of England Primary School have three core functions:

    • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
    • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff;  
    • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

    In order to do this effectively, our Governing Body is made up of 9 members who attend Full Governors Meeting at least six times a year. These Governors are from a wide variety of backgrounds in order to enable Sapperton to meet the core functions above.

    Governing Body Structure

    • Foundation Governors  
    • Parent Governors - elected by parents and carers of children at the school
    • Local Authority Governor - appointed by the LA
    • Staff Governor - elected by staff
    • Ex-officio Governors - the headteacher and Rector of Thameshead Benefice

    Full Governors meetings are also attended by the clerk to the Governing Body who can be contacted via email - 

    To contact the Acting Chair of the Governing Body, Reverend Pepita Walker, email - 

    Christian Ethos Committee

    As a church school, we also have a Christian Ethos sub-committee who oversee our Christian Vision and maintain positive links with the parish, benefice and diocese which benefit the community as a whole. Members of this committee shown below.

    Christian Ethos Sub Committee - Terms of Reference

    Sub Committees

    Curriculum & Standards

    The Curriculum & Standards Committee meet three times a year to monitor standards across the school. This includes overseeing the curriculum, Early Years and attainment.

    Gary Price, Meg Crampton, David Shears, Elspeth Murano, Line Whitfield and Liz Collins.

    Finances & Resources

    The Finances & Resources committee meet four times a year and have a responsibility for overseeing the school’s expenditure. They also have a delegated responsibility for health and safety, and safeguarding.

    Gary Price, Meg Crampton, Caryn Putney, Sophie Moss and Caroline Guy.

    Community & Values

    The Community and Values committee meet three times a year and have a remit which includes community links, including links with the church, and Religious Education.  

    Gary Price, Meg Crampton, Fay Britton and Reverend Pepita Walker.


    Governor Profiles