Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) covers the learning, development and care for children up to the age of five and therefore applies to children in the first year of schooling. 

EYFS framework contains 17 Early Learning Goals (ELGs) spread across the 7 areas of development:

  • Communication and Language
    • Listening and attention
    • Understanding
    • Speaking
  • Physical Development
    • Moving and handling
    • Health and self-care
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
    • Self-confidence and self-awareness
    • Managing feelings and behaviour
    • Making relationships
  • Literacy
    • Reading
    • Writing
  • Mathematics
    • Numbers
    • Shape, space and measures
  • Understanding the World
    • People and communities
    • The World
    • Technology
  • Expressive Arts and Design
    • Exploring and using media and materials
    • being imaginative

When planning and guiding children's activities, practitioners must consider the characteristics of effective teaching and learning:

  • Playing and exploring
  • active learning
  • creating and thinking critically

The full EYFS document can be found here.